Careers

For further information please contact…

Careers Lead: Sue Cutts

CEIAG Coordinator: Kathy Jemmott

Email: kathrynjemmott@ashtonpark.net

Phone: 0117 377 2843 (Mon to Thu, 8.30am to 4.30pm, Fri 8.30am to 4.00 pm)

Latest information

From careersnearhere.com

Useful Websites
Apprenticeships/Traineeships
  • Find an apprenticeship – https://www.gov.uk/apply-apprenticeships
  • Training and Apprenticeships Bristol – bristol.gov.uk/…guide-to-apprenticeships
  • notgoingtouni apprenticeships – notgoingtouni.co.uk/apprenticeships
  • Reed recruitment – reed.co.uk/apprenticeships/
  • Indeed
  • t2Apprenticeship Academy – t2apprenticeshipacademy.co.uk
  • South West Apprenticeship Co. Ltd- SWAC- org.uk
  • Look at specific industries for specialist apprenticeship companies
Further/Higher Education
  • UCAS progress (incl.colleges) – www.ucasprogress.com
  • UCAS – ucas.com
  • notgoingtouni – notgoingtouni.co.uk
  • Weston College – www.weston.ac.uk
  • City of Bristol College – cityofbristol.ac.uk
  • SGS – sgscol.com
  • Bath College – bathcollege.ac.uk
General Information Sites
  • National Careers Service – nationalcareersservice.direct.gov.uk
  • Careerpilot – www.careerpilot.org.uk
  • careersnearhere.com
  • icould.com
  • Non-traditional employment for Women – learnhowtobecome.org/underrepresented
  • My World of Work – myworldofwork.co.uk
  • Success at School – successatschool.org
  • Target Careers – target.careers.co.uk
Work Experience/Volunteering
  • Success at School – org/506/work-experience-ideas
  • Target Careers – targetcareers.co.uk/careers-advice/skills-and-experience/388-work-experience-for-school-students-what-you-need-and-how-to-get-it
  • My World of Work – https://www.myworldofwork.co.uk/getting-job/work-experience
Catering/Hospitality/Tourism
  • HIT training – co.uk
  • All about careers – allaboutcareers.com/…/hospitality-tourism
  • My world of Work – myworldofwork.co.uk/my-career-options/tourism
  • Search hotel and catering chains for individual training programmes
Computing/ICT
  • Arch Apprenticeships – archapprenticeships.co.uk
  • QA Apprenticeships – qa.com
Construction
  • Construction Industry Training Board (CITB) – www.citb.org.uk
  • On Site – onsitebristol.co.uk
  • JTL training – Electrical, plumbing & maintenance – jtltraining.com
  • Look at specific construction company websites – select Careers
Design/Arts/Media
  • 3aaa Bristol – www.3aaa.co.uk
  • Performing arts – www.thebalancecareers.com/performing-arts-jobs
Education
  • Vacancies – www.eteach.com
  • Local council websites – job vacancies
Environment
  • Article on current environmental careers – www.theguardian.com/careers/environment-careers
  • Environment Agency – gov.uk/…/organisations/environment-agency
  • Engineering/Manufacturing/Logistics
  • tomorrowsengineers.org.uk/careers-resources-activitiies/parents-guide-to-engineering-careers
  • BEMA – The British Engineering Manufacturers’ Association – bema.co.uk
  • N-Gaged – transport and logistics – n-gaged.co.uk
Finance/Business Administration
  • Inside careers in Finance – www.insidecareers.co.uk/career-advice/cisi-qualifications
  • Target careers – targetcareers.co.uk/…/70-how-do-i-get-into-finance
Government & Local Public Services
  • Advise on government departments – gov.uk
  • Civil Service all departments – civilservicejobs.service.gov.uk
  • Local government advice, employability tips and jobs – jobs.ac.uk
Healthcare
  • https://www.proudtocarebristol.org.uk/
  • NHS – job profiles both clinical and non-clinical – https://www.healthcareers.nhs.uk/explore-Roles
  • NHS – job vacancies, volunteering – nhs.jobs
Languages
Legal/Political
  • Balance careers – thebalancecareers.com/legal-career-profiles…
  • Routes into Law – www.allaboutlaw.co.uk/…/best-routes-into-law
Leisure/Sport
  • Sport careers and advice – careers-in-sport.co.uk
  • How to get into sport – www.port.ac.uk/…/careerguide-sportleisuremanagement
Retail/Sales/ other services
  • Hairdressing & barbering – Reflections Training Academy – reflectionstraining.co.uk
Uniformed Services
  • Cover all sectors of Armed Forces and uniformed services – www.careers.ox.ac.uk/armed-forces-uniformed-services
  • Army – https://apply.army.mod.uk/
  • Navy – royalnavy.mod.uk/
  • RAF – raf.mod.uk/recruitment & www.raf.mod.uk/recruitment/apprenticeship
  • Merchant Navy – com/merchant-navy-careers-jobs…
  • Police Force – application through individual forces  – avonandsomerset.police.uk/jobs
  • Bodyguard – com/careers/bodyguard.html